Zaha Hadid: The only woman who won the Royal Gold Medal

(Image: DesignMENA)

Iraqi-born British architect Zaha Hadid, was the first female winner of the Pritzker Architecture Prize on May 31, 2004. She also received the UK’s most prestigious architectural award, the Stirling Prize, and she became the first woman to be awarded the 2016 Royal Gold Medal in architecture by the Royal Institute of British Architects.

Today, Zaha’s ongoing legacy is featured by Google, who is paying homage to a woman “who captured the world’s attention and shattered glass ceilings”.

This year, Google also featured architects Hassan Fathy and Fazlur Rahman Khan.



Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.