Narendra Modi swears in as 15th Prime Minister of India

President of India, Ram Nath Kovind administered oath of office and secrecy to Narendra Modi and his Council of Ministers today evening at a grand ceremony held at Raisina Hills. Apart from the Prime Minister, Narendra Modi, 58 council of ministers also sworn in yesterday. These include 25 cabinet ministers, 9 Ministers of State with Independent Charge and 24 State Ministers.  

There are six women ministers among those sworn in yesterday. 

While the notable figures in the PM’s new cabinet include Rajnath Singh, Amit Shah, Piyush Goyal, Smriti Irani, Nirmala Sitaraman, Ravishankar Prasad, etc., the notable omissions from the list are Arun Jaitley, Sushma Swaraj, Maneka Gandhi and Suresh Prabhu. Those who didn’t find place in the new council also include Mahesh Sharma, the outgoing Minister of State for Culture with Independent charge and Minister of State for Environment, Forest and Climate Change. KJ Alphons, Tourism Minister in the last council of Ministers. 

The majestic swearing in was attended by over 6,000 invited guests, including Prime Ministers, Presidents, and Ambassadors of various countries in India. Leaders of BIMSTEC countries were also present to witness the swearing in. 

The National Democratic Alliance (NDA) led by Prime Minister Modi had garnered overwhelming majority in the General election 2019 the results of which were declared on May 23.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.