Aga Khan Award for Architecture announces 2019 master jury

Aga Khan Award for Architecture

The members of the Master Jury for the 2017-2019 Cycle of the Aga Khan Award for Architecture were announced. The Jury, which independently selects the recipients of the 1 million USD Award, will convene in January 2019 to select a shortlist from hundreds of nominated projects.

The nine members of the Master Jury for the 2017-2019 Award cycle are Kwame Anthony Akroma-Ampim Kusi Appiah, Meisa Batayneh, Sir David Chipperfield, Elizabeth Diller, Edhem Eldem, Mona Fawaz, Kareem Ibrahim, Ali M. Malkawi, Nondita Correa Mehrotra .

Once the Master Jury selects a shortlist, the shortlisted projects would then be subjected to rigorous on-site reviews by independent experts, most of them architects, conservation specialists, planners or structural engineers. The Jury will meet for a second time in summer 2019 to examine the on-site reviews and select the final recipients of the Award.

The selection process emphasises architecture that not only provides for people’s physical, social and economic needs, but that also stimulates and responds to their cultural aspirations. Particular attention is given to building schemes that use local resources and appropriate technology in innovative ways and to projects likely to inspire similar efforts elsewhere.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.